Landmarks designates Domino Sugar plant

Iconic symbol of Brooklyn’s industrial heritage approved as City landmark. On September 25, 2007, Landmarks voted unanimously to designate three buildings within the former Domino Sugar Processing Plant, located along the East River in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

The three round arch-style brick buildings, the largest of which measures 13 stories high, date back to the 1880s. The plant produced sugar until the 1970s. After Domino closed the site in 2004, CPC Resources purchased the plant with … <Read More>

Domino Sugar designation receives great support

Developer testified to the great cost of converting buildings to housing. On June 26, 2007, Landmarks held its first hearing on the potential designation of three 1884 buildings within the former Domino Sugar Processing Plant in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. The plan received overwhelming support.

Among those in support included representatives from the development team that plans to convert the plant to a mixed-use complex containing 2,200 units of housing, 660 of which would be reserved for … <Read More>

Hearing approved for Domino Sugar building

Refinery buildings, just north of Williamsburg Bridge, were completed in 1884. On May 22, 2007, Landmarks voted to consider designation of the former Domino Sugar Processing Plant in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Under consideration are three connected structures, the Pan House, Finishing House, and Filter House, which is the largest structure in the complex, standing 13 stories above the East River. Landmarks’ action did not include the nearby 1960s building hosting the yellow neon “Domino Sugar” sign.… <Read More>