New Landmarks commissioner confirmed

Preservationist to replace Thomas Pike. On March 28, 2007, the City Council voted unanimously to approve the appointment of Diana Chapin to Landmarks. The Council also voted to approve the reappointments of Commissioners Pablo Vengoechea, Stephen Byrns, Joan Gerner, and Christopher Moore.

Diana Chapin, a member of the Municipal Art Society and the Landmarks Conservancy, is Executive Director of the Queens Library Foundation. She was a founding member of the Historic House Trust, a not-for-profit that works with Parks to preserve historic homes. Chapin, who had a long career in City government, served as a Deputy Commissioner with the Department of Environmental Protection, with Buildings, and with Parks as well as being Parks’ Queens Borough Commissioner. Chapin will be replacing Reverend Thomas Pike who served on Landmarks for 16 years.

Five Commissioners Appointed to the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, LPC Press Release, March 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.