Public Design Commission Announces Election of Deborah Marton as President

On July 18, 2023, Deborah Marton, Executive Director of the Van Alen Institute, was unanimously elected President of the NYC Public Design Commission (PDC). Marton, who served as a PDC Commissioner since 2020, will build on former PDC President Signe Nielsen’s legacy by reviewing City-owned property designs and advocating for innovative, sustainable, and equitable public spaces and civic structures citywide.

Mayor de Blasio Names Faith Rose as New Public Design Commission Chair

Appointee previously served as Director of the Design Excellence program. On October 7, 2014, Mayor Bill de Blasio appointed Faith Rose to serve as Executive Director of the Public Design Commission. Ms. Rose, a licensed architect and partner at O’Neill Rose Architects, earned her Masters of Architecture from Yale University and comes to the Commission from the Department of Design and Construction. As Director of the Department’s Design Excellence program, Ms. Rose oversaw … <Read More>

City Comptroller Audit Criticizes Public Design Commission

Public Design Commission rejected Comptroller’s recommendation for more efficient design review process.  The New York City Public Design Commission (formerly known as the Art Commission) reviews permanent works of art, architecture, and landscape architecture proposed on or over City-owned property. The Commission is composed of 11 unpaid members, eight of whom are appointed by the mayor, and includes an architect, landscape architect, painter, and sculptor, as well as representatives of the Brooklyn Museum, the … <Read More>